Frequently Asked Questions
We currently don't have any frequently asked questions listed for this card, but if you have a question about it, then feel free to ask it in our Rules Questions forum.
Official Card Rulings (Current as of 1/16/2004)
Note - Also see Copying Objects, Ruling 503. There are enough important rules there that they are worth reading first. You need not (and may not) pay any additional mana or other costs (like sacrifices) to use the spell which is Forked. You get control over a complete copy but can change nothing except the targets. [Duelist Magazine #11, Page 57] If mana or other costs need to be spent at resolution of the spell, the caster of Fork would still be responsible for paying that cost. [bethmo 1994/07/18] Extra costs which are in the spell text but not in the cost at the top of the card still count as part of the cost and do not need to be paid by the player casting Fork. This includes extra mana in Soul Burn Buy. [Duelist Magazine #11, Page 57] You maintain full control over the copy of the spell regardless of who cast the original. [Snark 1994/02/01] For spells like Fireball Buy that allow mana to be used for damage or for additional targets, the controller of the copy must use the same number of targets the original spell did. [Duelist Magazine #3, Page 22] Forking a spell with an X in the cost like Detonate Buy requires you to use the same X value. In the case of Detonate, you must find an artifact with exactly the cost X. [WotC Rules Team 1994/09/30] The Fork card goes to the graveyard when it resolves and leaves the copy on the stack. There is no card representing the copy on the stack. [D'Angelo 2001/08/15] If the spell being copied targets a spell on the stack, it is possible to target Fork itself since Fork is still on the stack when you pick the target(s) for the copy. Note that since Fork will remove itself, the copy's target will be illegal when it resolves. [DeLaney 2001/08/19] Will not copy changes made by modifying effects to the spell prior to the use of Fork, such as Sleight of Mind Buy or Magical Hack Buy. [WotC Rules Team 1998/03/31] If you copy a spell for which Buyback has been paid, you get nothing back since the copied spell does not have a card to give you. [D'Angelo 2001/08/15] If you copy a spell for which Kicker has been paid, the Kicker has been paid for the copy as well. [DeLaney 2000/10/18] The copy that is placed on the stack is not considered to have been "played". [DeLaney 2001/08/13] Does not copy effects upon the spell, such as Ertai's Meddling Buy. [bethmo 1997/11/19] Does not let you make non-targeting choices about the spell. [Aahz 1997/11/17] It does copy the mana symbols in the mana cost for the card it is copying, but it uses its own color definition and not the one from those mana symbols. This is so it maintains its color just like the text says. [bethmo 1998/07/07] Type 1 tournaments (see Ruling 801) have restricted this card since 1995/04/19. Type 1.5 tournaments (see Ruling 802) have always banned this card. Extended tournaments (see Ruling 803) have banned this card since 1999/10/01. Standard (Type 2) tournaments (see Ruling 804) have banned this card since 1996/05/02 since it is not in the current edition. Note - Also see Copying Objects, Ruling 503. Note - This card was of type Interrupt and is now of type Instant. [Oracle 1999/09/03]