Frequently Asked Questions
We currently don't have any frequently asked questions listed for this card, but if you have a question about it, then feel free to ask it in our Rules Questions forum.
Official Card Rulings (Current as of 1/16/2004)
Can acquire cards which are removed from the game by other cards, such as Ice Cauldron Buy, Elkin Bottle Buy, Necropotence Buy, etc. Such cards are in the "removed from game" zone. [Judgment FAQ 2002/05/28] Cannot acquire cards that are phased out or in an Oubliette Buy or Tawnos's Coffin Buy. Those cards are in the Phased Out zone and not in the Removed from Game zone. [D'Angelo 2002/06/14] See Ruling 502.15. Cannot acquire the Ante cards. They are considered still "in the game" as are cards in the library and the graveyard. [D'Angelo 2002/06/14] Does not allow you to look at face-down cards which are in the removed from game zone. You get to see the chosen card at the same time your opponent does, when you reveal it. [D'Angelo 2002/06/14] You do get to tell each set of face down cards from other sets based on which effect removed the cards from the game. If you want to pick from a face down set, you take a random card from it. For example, if your hand is removed with Suppress Buy, you can see your hand there face down and you can pick a random card from it. If you used Necropotence Buy twice, each time was a separate effect and put the one card separately face down. You can pick either one, assuming you remember which is which. [Barclay 2002/05/16] In Duelist Convocation tournament play, it can only bring cards from your sideboard or ones that were removed from the game by a spell or ability. [Judgment FAQ 2002/05/28] If you remove a card from the sideboard, this card is placed into your sideboard to maintain the size of the sideboard. [Judgment FAQ 2002/05/28] If this spell is somehow played using a pseudo-spell (such as with Mirari Buy), then there will be no card to put in your sideboard. This is approved under the rules. [WotC Rules Team 2002/10/01] In Duelist Convocation tournament play, you may look at your sideboard during the resolution of this spell. Normally, you cannot look at your sideboard during a game. [Judgment FAQ 2002/05/28] In non-tournament play, it can also be any card you own which is not in the game. [Judgment FAQ 2002/05/28] Type 1 tournaments (see Ruling 801) have restricted this card since 2004/01/01. Type 1.5 tournaments (see Ruling 802) banned this card since 2004/01/01.