RUN FOR COVER!
Riptide Mangler Buy + Crown of Flames Buy + Fling Buy
Use the crown on Mangler, pump it up, change its power to its own, next turn, repeat every turn grining evilly, once you get a big bomb, fling it... BAAANG
(Submitted by Syous)   Rating:(25)   
27 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

     
Ratings Posted By Date Posted
Usefulness
Originality
Overall
billygotenGuru   1/28/2003 4:47:57 PM
Interesting. Great way to exploit the Mangler (which will get errata soon probably). I am gonna rearrange my keldon battlewagon deck to include the manglers. It's blue/green tap untap tap untap doubling the Battlewagon's power every time and then the Mangler steals the power so you can start from there next turn. Two 64000/3 creatures aren't cool, for them anyways. I'll post the battlewagon deck later today for review.

Last Modified: 1/28/2003 4:50:58 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
kemykalModerator   1/28/2003 5:05:22 PM
there was a thread in the Rules Questions Forum named "New Card Question" that discussed this. here is the final answer.

If you use the ability of the Riptide Mangler on itself then it will not change anything (Well, not something normal magic players will understand).

Suppose you have a "clean" Riptide Mangler. It will thus be a 0/3. At this point the Riptide Mangler has no effect on it at all (hence the term "clean").

Now you use the ability of the Riptide Mangler on a 3/3 (meaning you target a 3/3). When the ability resolves, there will be an effect on Riptide Mangler. This effect says "~This~ has a power of 3". If we look through our microscopes at the Riptide Mangler we see:

basic Riptide Mangler 0/3 + "~This~ has power 3" = Riptide Mangler 3/3

Now you play Glorious Anthem. All your creatures get +1/+1. Lets look through the microscope again:

basic Riptide Mangler 0/3 + "~This~ has power 3" + "+1/+1 Glorious Anthem effect" = Riptide Mangler 4/4

Now we use the ability of the Riptide Mangler on itself. This creates an extra effect that says "~This~ has power 4". Microscope again:

basic Riptide Mangler 0/3 + "~This~ has power 3" + "+1/+1 Glorious Anthem effect" + "~This~ has power 4" = Riptide Mangler 4/4

As you can see, the Glorious Anthem effect is applied, but it is completely masked by the Riptide Mangler's ability effect. It is not now nor has it ever been allowed to apply the effect of Glorious Anthem again, so the Riptide Mangler will not be "growing" each time you use its ability on itself.


[EDIT]im sorry, i finally realized the difference and what you actually do with this combo.[EDIT]

Last Modified: 1/28/2003 7:18:34 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Syous   1/28/2003 5:24:21 PM
Maybe with enchantments like anthem you cannot use its ability, but think about crown of flames....

You pump your creature up to, say 4, then u use the creature's ability, the power will FIX on 4, next turn when you use the crown again, you will not start from 0, but from 4, pump it and FIX the power again.

Last Modified: 1/28/2003 5:27:23 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
JadeDragon   1/28/2003 5:56:15 PM
The combo does work - and it's an all right one.
I think you should leave Fling Buy off of the combo though. Fling Buy is not really "comboing" here - it is just doing what it normally does.

Last Modified: 1/29/2003 12:24:36 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Tomes   5/31/2003 10:06:51 PM
fling activates the bomb

Last Modified: 5/31/2003 10:07:11 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
dorion   6/12/2003 7:51:42 PM
i really like this combo gonna make a blue/red beast burn deck

Last Modified: 6/12/2003 7:52:31 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Parson Wheems   8/26/2003 8:05:29 PM
I've seen better.

Last Modified: 8/26/2003 8:05:40 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
CovertSomnophore   11/7/2003 7:57:55 PM
Usefulness: Outstanding!
Originality: Pretty base, pump up, fling?
Overall: Very good.
Post more combos!
-the CovertSomnophore

Last Modified: 11/7/2003 7:59:37 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
J-n-LBug Hunter   11/28/2003 7:37:17 PM
great combo, i think im gonna use it thanx

Last Modified: 11/28/2003 7:39:07 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
xbloodxmagex   2/17/2004 11:55:15 AM
all i'm going to say is... they better have a shunt or misdirect, cuz... gg...
that is pure evil...

Last Modified: 2/17/2004 11:55:43 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
DLPJRinPA   3/20/2004 10:22:02 PM
You don't even need Fling Buy. Just swing with the creature every turn.

Last Modified: 3/20/2004 10:23:05 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Bringer of the Dawns   5/26/2004 1:13:49 AM
The Fling Buy is not nessessary, but it is useful.

Last Modified: 5/26/2004 1:15:35 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
ninjaofpain   10/23/2004 9:02:03 PM
Nice combo!

Last Modified: 10/23/2004 9:02:43 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Bringer of the Dawns   11/7/2004 8:46:25 PM
A Bonesplitter Buy works better, because it costs {1}{U} to give it +2/+0 versus +1/+0 for {1}{U}{R}. However, it does work.

Last Modified: 11/7/2004 8:48:11 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
magnar25   1/1/2005 3:27:11 AM
Wow... Riptide Mangler Buy is almost broken...

The fling isn't necessary, but it does help a bit. You may want to just keep the mangler as is depending on the situation.

Last Modified: 1/1/2005 3:28:32 AM     



The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.
Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search