A better fastbond combo setup.
Fastbond Buy + Hallow Buy
The limitation is that you have to play them both on the same turn, targetting Fastbond Buy with the Hallow Buy while it's on the stack. Once it comes into play you'll gain one life per land instead of taking 1 damage until end of turn. See rule 419.8a which ends with
Quote:If the player chooses an artifact, creature, or enchantment spell, the prevention will apply to any damage from that spell and from the permanent that it becomes when it resolves.
(Submitted by DJKC)   Rating:(18)   
24 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

     
Ratings Posted By Date Posted
Usefulness
Originality
Overall
DJKC   8/23/2006 8:18:11 PM
Was searching Fastbond Buy combos, was odd to see none of them using Hallow Buy with it and lots using cards like Lifegift Buy or Soul Warden Buys instead. If you do it this way the infinite creature combos with Meloku the Clouded Mirror Buy become infinite life + infinite creatures, infinite mana ones with Storm Cauldron Buy become infinite life + infinite mana, etc.

Or with a particularily broken hand, it's simply:
T1, Forest Buy
T2, Plains Buy, Fastbond Buy, Hallow Buy targetting Fastbond Buy, Selesnya Sanctuary Buy (return itself), repeat for infinite life.

Example edited because of correction from one of the commentors.

I prefer running decks based on the W/U/G combos using them since then you get the white tutors for the Fastbond Buy and the blue tutors for Hallow Buy. Or Dizzy Spell Buy for either one.

Last Modified: 8/24/2006 9:35:04 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
cardman1234   8/24/2006 12:36:01 AM
WOW............

Last Modified: 8/24/2006 12:36:18 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
mdigibou   8/24/2006 12:39:12 AM
good rules knowledge especially

gj also cheap and very abusable

Last Modified: 8/24/2006 12:39:35 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
crr65536   8/24/2006 1:30:56 AM
I think this is a decent non-obvious observation.

Last Modified: 8/24/2006 1:31:31 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
OrnithopterLover   8/24/2006 1:33:00 AM
i like. Cheap, strong, effective.

Last Modified: 8/24/2006 1:33:28 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Druegor   8/24/2006 1:40:58 AM
Good combo, I'd never really considered using hallow on a permanent for the turn I may have to use it in one of my own combos now. Just a side note you don't need two Selesnya Sanctuary Buy since it can return itself to give you infinite life first turn.

Last Modified: 8/24/2006 2:27:14 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
FastJack   8/24/2006 7:03:32 AM
The gold between all the mud of nonbos is certanily becoming scarce, but obviously there is still some left. Very good!

Last Modified: 8/24/2006 7:04:22 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
mutantman   8/24/2006 1:12:40 PM
Yup, this works. Definitely a substantial improvement to existing combos, although it is only for one turn. But you should win in that turn anyway, so you're good.

Last Modified: 8/24/2006 1:13:43 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Tala_x9   8/25/2006 3:43:23 AM
Hallow only works on Spells!!!!!!!!! NOT ENCHANTMENTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last Modified: 5/4/2008 4:44:57 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
DJKC   8/25/2006 10:36:06 AM
Quote:OMG..... Hallow only works on Spells!!!!!!!!! NOT ENCHANTMENTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yes. Which is why in the description it says to target Fastbond while it's still on the stack and quotes the rule that explains why it works. It only works for one turn, but that's usually enough time do your combo and get infinite life. See almost all the comments above you here.

People also brought it up on the official mailing list and the response was the same: it works.

Please try to at least understand a combo and the relevant rules before rating ^^

Last Modified: 8/25/2006 10:41:57 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
FastJack   8/25/2006 12:18:15 PM
Quoting Tala_x9:OMG..... Hallow only works on Spells!!!!!!!!! NOT ENCHANTMENTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Hmmm... 7 people before you gave high marks to this and you don't even bother to check wether they just *maybe* could be correct? But then again you use lots of exclamation marks and capital letters, so your (wrong) assumption that you are more clever than other people shouldn't come as a suprise. Your kind always does.

Last Modified: 8/25/2006 12:22:00 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
FindingMarkPoole   8/25/2006 2:00:39 PM
i wasnt planning on rating this but i will just because of that retard

funny thing about people like that is they actually help get you Combos of the Day--they boost your rating count and then they make other people rate to counter their's

Last Modified: 8/25/2006 2:01:40 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
MrMustard   8/26/2006 9:40:29 AM
It works and it's good. Good


Last Modified: 8/26/2006 9:52:32 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
DualProdigy   8/28/2006 2:40:39 AM
Nice combo, gets 5s for usefulness and cuz of retard who doesnt understand rulings

Last Modified: 8/28/2006 2:41:19 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
NejiXSan   10/30/2006 4:53:44 AM
Monday 30th October 2006: Combo Of The Day! SWEET! XD

Last Modified: 10/30/2006 4:54:13 AM     



The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.
Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search