infinite turns
Final Fortune Buy + Isochron Scepter Buy + Sundial of the Infinite Buy
put Final Fortune Buy into Isochron Scepter Buy cast it take another turn, pay 2 get another turn. Using Sundial of the Infinite Buy of course.
(Submitted by 69)   Rating:(12)   
19 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

Ratings Posted By Date Posted
69Bug Hunter   7/17/2011 7:15:26 AM
Credit goes to smudge for this one..

Last Modified: 7/17/2011 7:15:56 AM     

zetsu   7/17/2011 10:01:10 AM

Last Modified: 7/17/2011 10:02:50 AM     

Fire MothBug Hunter   7/17/2011 11:16:55 AM
isochron scepter + instant still isnt a combo

Last Modified: 7/17/2011 11:17:09 AM     

Max Power   7/17/2011 4:37:22 PM
First scepter combo that I've seen which is actually a combo. Regardless of the people immediately discounting it because it has scepter, the whole is indeed greater than the sum of the parts, and it is a unique interaction.

Last Modified: 7/17/2011 4:39:03 PM     

Raven Xtreme   7/17/2011 5:29:16 PM
@Max Power: Sorry, dood. It definitely is NOT a combo. Scepter + Instant doesn't make it a combo. There is no unique interaction. All you're doing is getting another turn every turn and ending the effect of losing the game. Not unique about it at all. Everything is doing what they're supposed to.

Last Modified: 7/17/2011 5:30:47 PM     

wordelo   7/17/2011 8:38:05 PM
I'm going to say what I was going to say before accidently clicking another link while writing and erasing everything so I just gave up.

There a lot of final fortune combos, and some do use the sceptor, but a lot of them also use things that either skip the turn, counter the effect, or make you not lose. Platinum Angel Buy Time Vault Buy Stifle Buy

some even use cards that mimic exactly what iso-scepter does like Panoptic Mirror Buy or Spellbinder Buy and all these are still on the site (some for several years) and have not been marked invalid. surely EM has seen these at least once and would have removed it but they didn't they did remove a bunch of other combos though one specific one that works just like this uses Time Stop Buy was deleted.

I also saw that iso-scepter + final fortune + platinum angel was also deleted. so the only real explanation is that they just missed those other ones.

but really the combo is final fortune + sundial of the infinite

the one with time stop was deleted because "there are easier ways to achive the same result" like Time Warp Buy
but this is {1}{R}{R} to take a safe extra turn (or {3}{R}{R} if you want to include casting cost of sundial)

you get stars for usefulness only because this is useful but iso-scepter usually makes it a deck strategy.

edit: and as that combo comes out of the depths of invalid combos that gives this combo merit of combo-ism

Last Modified: 7/18/2011 1:14:26 AM     

smudgeBug Hunter   7/17/2011 10:04:34 PM
Just 'cause it has Scepter doesn't mean it's not a combo. Sure it's not that original, but what the hell is wrong with you people? I mean are ya'll honestly complaining about infinite turns? Yeah, Scepter + random instant doesn't equal a combo, but some cards with Scepter are indeed combos.

Last Modified: 7/17/2011 10:08:30 PM     

evileskimocalModeratorGuruBug Hunter   7/17/2011 11:45:33 PM
Quoting wordelo:I also saw that iso-scepter + final fortune + platinum angel was also deleted. so the only real explanation is that they just missed those other ones.

I just restored that combo. It shouldn't have been invalidated.

This is certainly a combo. It's not "Isochron Scepter Buy + random instant."

Here are some examples of Isochron Scepter Buy + random instant:

Isochron Scepter Buy + Boomerang Buy
Isochron Scepter Buy + Counterspell Buy
Isochron Scepter Buy + Lightning Bolt Buy

Final Fortune Buy isn't just some random instant. When combined with Isochron Scepter Buy and something to prevent you from losing, it produces infinite turns. Hopefully you all can see the difference between using Isochron Scepter Buy to gain infinite turns and using Isochron Scepter Buy to cast some random instant every turn. Final Fortune Buy is one of the few cards that can be combined with Isochron Scepter Buy to produce a real combo.

Last Modified: 7/17/2011 11:54:17 PM     

Magidex   7/18/2011 2:36:48 AM
It IS amazing, but it's infinite, so, good luck running this more than once at the casual table.

Last Modified: 7/18/2011 2:37:54 AM     

Raven Xtreme   7/18/2011 5:08:09 AM
@Cal: I'm just not seeing how this is unique. Sundial just stops the turn loss. Which is what it does.

Could you explain to me how this actually is a combo besides giving infinite turns? What I mean by that is it actually unique?

Last Modified: 7/18/2011 5:09:50 AM     

evileskimocalModeratorGuruBug Hunter   7/18/2011 5:21:51 AM
It's not unique, but a combo doesn't need to be unique to be valid. Pretty much any infinite combo is valid unless it's too similar to an existing combo. Sure, it's been posted with Platinum Angel Buy in place of Sundial of the Infinite Buy, but this goes off 3rd turn, whereas Platinum Angel Buy takes over twice as long without acceleration. It's enough of an improvement that it gets to stay.

Don't get too caught up on uniqueness. It's not as important as you seem to think. A combo only needs to be somewhat unique, e.g. not as bland as something like Rhox Buy + [random card that increases its power to at least 10] + Berserk Buy/Fatal Frenzy Buy/Furnace of Rath Buy/etc. If you want, you can basically ignore the "unique" requirement for a combo and instead think of it this way:

1) It can't be too similar to an existing combo, unless it's a significant improvement.
2) It can't be so obvious that it's not worth posting.

Last Modified: 7/18/2011 5:38:59 AM     

Kain123   7/18/2011 10:55:04 AM
This is a combo and I am very surprised that so many of us didnt see it. Ok, maybe im not *that* surprised, every time I see a good combo being posted, I see a bunch of lovely "TINAC" and similar.

Anything that is turning Final Fortune Buy into infinite turn has to be a combo...because getting infinite turns out of Final Fortune is obviously not intended...the card is supposed to give you only 1 extra turn and you're supposed to die at the end of that extra there's no "intended" infinite turns here.

Listen to cal, he's, once again, wiser then most of us.

Last Modified: 7/18/2011 10:57:55 AM     

kablooy   7/18/2011 3:44:52 PM
I believe I should make a deck on this combo.

But just a fast question. With infinite turns like this, how are you supposed to win? Damage wears off, etc... as the sundial says.

So how?

Last Modified: 7/18/2011 3:46:20 PM     

Magidex   7/18/2011 3:52:47 PM
You activate the Scepter for another turn.
Finish your current turn.
Take your next turn, activating the scepter again.
In response to the lose the game trigger from last turn, activate the Sundial.

With infinite turns, Goblin Fireslinger becomes lethal.

Last Modified: 7/18/2011 3:55:20 PM     

Saggyjello89   7/26/2011 5:06:58 PM
This combo just won a big legacy tournament. Legit.

Last Modified: 7/26/2011 5:07:19 PM     

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.
Join Free!

User Search
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search