Exile Anything
Sundial of the Infinite Buy + Glimmerpoint Stag Buy + Mimic Vat Buy
With Glimmerpoint Stag Buy imprinted onto Mimic Vat Buy and Sundial of the Infinite Buy in play, copy the stag to exile an opponent's permanent, and then end the turn before the begining of the end step. The result is {4} remove any permanent from the game, and keep the copy of the stag, which has haste.

Oh yeah, and it's type 2 legal.
(Submitted by pgs2011)   Rating:(10)   
17 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

     
Ratings Posted By Date Posted
Usefulness
Originality
Overall
jewbacca   7/27/2011 6:46:22 AM
can it be established already that sundial of the infinite + end of turn downside =/= combo in the same way that isochron scepter + 2 mana instant =/= combo?

Last Modified: 7/27/2011 6:47:32 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
pgs2011   7/27/2011 2:26:55 PM
Ha, that's probably true, but I'm sure when Glimmerpoint Stag Buy is thrown in there, all three are are a combo.

Last Modified: 7/27/2011 2:27:50 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
monkeys7390   7/27/2011 3:25:49 PM
I'm pretty sure that a vindicate machine is a combo. Not positive, but pretty sure. I think the fact that it's standard puts it over the edge.

Last Modified: 7/27/2011 3:33:05 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
kablooy   7/27/2011 9:57:37 PM
Oblivion Ring Buy says hi.

Both cheaper and it's only one card.

Last Modified: 7/27/2011 9:58:14 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
pgs2011   7/27/2011 11:14:46 PM
Yeah oblivion ring is nice, but this combo lets you target lands...
and, once exiled, the card can't come back...
and, you get a 3/3 token with vigilance...
and, you can do it repeatedly.

Last Modified: 7/27/2011 11:19:18 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
KaervekBug Hunter   8/11/2011 10:17:13 AM
anyone who thinks this combo = oblivion ring needs to learn how to play magic.

its a good combo.

Last Modified: 8/11/2011 10:17:51 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Jonqui   8/17/2011 2:20:42 AM
I really like that its type 2 legal.

Last Modified: 8/17/2011 2:21:41 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
beondhuman   8/19/2011 7:28:08 PM
i have noticed 1 flaw. the stag and the mimic vat both state at the beginning of the next end step. your opponent has an end step.

Last Modified: 8/19/2011 7:29:24 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
matuna   8/19/2011 10:02:06 PM
holy crap, that was completely amazing until the above ^ poster pointed out its one major flaw.....breaks the whole idea

Last Modified: 8/19/2011 10:02:51 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Tanithilis   8/20/2011 1:52:03 PM
It should still work. You use the Sundial while the end step ability of the stag is on the stack. Once the Sundial ends the turn, that end step ability has successfully triggered, but it won't resolve. It should avoid it from coming back on the next player's end step.

Last Modified: 8/20/2011 1:52:49 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
SilverBrood   9/2/2011 6:11:55 AM
end the turn = empty the stack = remove all efects at all = they don't wait until ANOTHER EOT they stop existing = why that teffect on an instant spell was what... 7 mana?

Last Modified: 9/2/2011 6:12:53 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
SocksofGranduer   10/6/2011 8:33:59 PM
The exile (from mimic vat) and the return from exile (from the stag) both trigger at the "beginning of the next end step." This is important, because these aren't "effects" waiting on a stack somewhere that can be ended, they're static effects waiting to trigger at the beginning of the next end step. Otherwise, you could Stifle Buy the crap out of them any time during your turn.

If you end your turn before the beginning of your end step, they never trigger. Result: They're still waiting to trigger during your opponents turn. Consequence: You fail at combo lol.

HOWEVER, before you get all angrypants with me, IF you were to say, proceed into your end step, and let all the triggers trigger, putting their effects on the stack, and THEN end the turn, you win at combo. maybe. If someone can prove that that's legit. otherwise, this combo = fail.

Last Modified: 10/6/2011 8:39:37 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
pgs2011   10/7/2011 4:18:07 AM
Honestly, at first, I totally forgot about the "next end step" language until someone pointed it out - which was depressing.

But, you might be right Cubcadet. I don't know the exact ruling on this though. Anyone have any advice?

Last Modified: 10/7/2011 4:19:49 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Yetti   11/24/2011 3:52:14 PM
Found this on Gatherer card rulings

If Sundial of the Infinite's ability is activated before the end step, any "at the beginning of the end step"-triggered abilities won't get the chance to trigger that turn because the end step is skipped. Those abilities will trigger at the beginning of the end step of the next turn. The same is true of abilities that trigger at the beginning of other phases or steps (except upkeep).


From http://gatherer.wizards.com/pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=228118

Last Modified: 11/24/2011 3:53:34 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
timo420   3/17/2012 7:20:59 PM
This Works! End step trigger must trigger and be put on the stack, then activate Sundial of the Infinite Buy to clear the stack. So this means the end step did trigger but didn,t resolve. Since it only happens once it will not trigger ever ever again ( not even the next end step of opponent).

Last Modified: 3/17/2012 7:26:56 PM     



The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.
Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search