Ooze Draw
Necrotic Ooze Buy + Civilized Scholar Buy
Have the Scholar in the yard. Tap to draw, then ditch a creature. Since the Ooze can't transform, he just untaps. Do this to cycle through a bunch of cards to hit your reanimation spell. Also helps give the Ooze a lot more abilities.
(Submitted by Enforcer !X!)   Rating:(12)   
21 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

     
Ratings Posted By Date Posted
Usefulness
Originality
Overall
69Bug Hunter   10/7/2011 7:26:15 PM
If this works like you say then it's fucking awesome!!!

Last Modified: 10/7/2011 7:26:33 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Jaerex   10/8/2011 1:17:52 AM
This works, and holy crap.

Imagining this being another Hermit Druid type EDH combo.

Last Modified: 10/8/2011 1:22:13 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Æther Tech   10/8/2011 2:07:59 AM
What happens if you can't discard a creature?

Last Modified: 10/8/2011 2:08:07 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Jaerex   10/8/2011 2:18:58 AM
Then Necrotic Ooze Buy wouldn't untap and you continue the game as normal.

Last Modified: 10/8/2011 2:19:38 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
darkmage69   10/8/2011 3:22:49 AM
This does not work. Necrotic Ooze Buy has "all activated abilities" of all creature cards in all graveyards, it doesn't become a copy of that creature. So the Civilized Scholar Buy would untap itself, there is no scholar in play ...nothing happens other than drawing and discarding "a" card. (I cant believe some people gave this full stars)

Last Modified: 10/8/2011 4:24:02 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
MallysGuru   10/8/2011 5:17:44 AM
@ darkmage69

Quoting CompRules:201.4b If an ability of an object refers to that object by name, and an object with a different name gains that ability, each instance of the first name in the gained ability that refers to the first object by name should be treated as the second name.

Last Modified: 10/8/2011 5:19:50 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Exilis_the_Wraith   10/8/2011 1:10:29 PM
Quoting Magic Comprehensive Rules:701.25a Only permanents represented by double-faced cards can transform. (See rule 711, ―Double-
Faced Cards.‖) If a spell or ability instructs a player to transform any permanent that isn‘t
represented by a double-faced card, nothing happens.

Doesn't work. Reported as invalid.

EDIT: Mental note to self to read the f*cking card. It does work. The untap part and the transform part are separate events. Nice way to dig through your whole deck.

Last Modified: 10/8/2011 1:13:16 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
DrMarmoset   10/8/2011 3:04:07 PM
pretty sure this does work, because when you copy something that has a card name in it (like the scholar) it becomes the name of the card that copied it. otherwise there would be a ton of broken combos out there

Last Modified: 10/8/2011 3:05:24 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
69Bug Hunter   10/8/2011 4:26:06 PM
To answer Aethe_Tech's question just make sure your deck consists of mostly creatures.

Last Modified: 10/8/2011 4:26:31 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Magidex   10/8/2011 7:17:27 PM
That is fantastic. Nice job!

Last Modified: 10/8/2011 7:17:45 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
darkmage69   10/8/2011 7:41:39 PM
my apologies to Enforcer x, was not aware of that rule..thanx for bringing it to my attention Mallys..this combo is great an will be rated as such!

Last Modified: 10/8/2011 7:45:41 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Æther Tech   10/9/2011 1:17:15 AM
Seems more of a deck strat then a combo, considering your deck needs to utterly support it.

Last Modified: 10/9/2011 1:17:32 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Praetor   10/9/2011 7:36:55 PM
Quoting Æther Tech:Seems more of a deck strat then a combo, considering your deck needs to utterly support it.


While you would need a deck to support it, I'm pretty sure this qualifies as greater than the sum of the parts of included cards.

Last Modified: 10/9/2011 7:37:59 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Cry_Havoc   10/9/2011 10:06:14 PM
I'm gonna say it's a combo! I like, and yes it does work!

Last Modified: 10/9/2011 10:06:36 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
bleepBug Hunter   10/10/2011 7:23:36 AM
I recently dismantled my Necrotic Ooze Buy deck because of the 12+ different infinite combo's in it, I like the fact that I can actually use the card again as this isn't an OP INSTAGIB combo!

Thanks! Awesome Combo!

Last Modified: 10/10/2011 7:24:39 AM     



The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.
Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search