Site Maintenance Warning
We are currently wrapping up the loading process for new sets please do not edit/add to collections or decks. ETA Midnight 7/12

Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > General Magic Disc. & Strategy > Protect Creatures

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
Pshel

Joined: 10/28/2003

Quote: [none]

 

Protect Creatures 8/9/2016 11:13:47 AM

I have a Magus of the Abyss Buy in play. Is there a way to protect it from itself other than making it an artifact.

I would like a multiple effect if possible to protect a Sangromancer Buy inplay as well

Thanks

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Mallys
Guru

Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]

 

RE: Protect Creatures 8/9/2016 10:53:02 PM

Quoting Pshel:I have a Magus of the Abyss Buy in play. Is there a way to protect it from itself other than making it an artifact.

I would like a multiple effect if possible to protect a Sangromancer Buy inplay as well

Thanks

The only way to protect it from its ability is to make it an illegal target for the ability. That is, you would need to make it an artifact, make it a non-creature, or make it so that it can't be targeted at all (by bestowing 'shroud,' for example).

There are a few options for shroud (static or repeatable for all your creatures), but not in black. Liquimetal Coating Buy is reusable, but single target, and then Thran Forge Buy is another similar option; if you go into blue, there are a few other choices that way, too.

As far as making it a non-creature, that's probably more effort than is reasonable. Alternatively, you could give it indestructible as well.
--------------------
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Pshel

Joined: 10/28/2003

Quote: [none]

 

Random Comment 8/10/2016 8:21:48 AM

Thanks I forgot about indestructable I can do that with enchant creature

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

3 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search