Site Maintenance Warning
We are currently wrapping up the loading process for new sets please do not edit/add to collections or decks. ETA 7/23-26

Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > "Manaplasm"

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
Pshel

Joined: 10/28/2003

Quote: [none]

 

"Manaplasm" 8/28/2016 9:27:31 AM

Manaplasm is a creature in the new Conspiracy Expansion. It says when you cast as spell it gets +x/+x where X is the converted mana cost. Can I do this multiple times and get lots of +x's.

And what is the converted mana cost of a 10 point Fireball Buy

Thanks

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Mallys
Guru

Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]

 

RE: "Manaplasm" 8/28/2016 6:25:44 PM

Quoting Pshel:Manaplasm is a creature in the new Conspiracy Expansion. It says when you cast as spell it gets +x/+x where X is the converted mana cost. Can I do this multiple times and get lots of +x's.

Manaplasm Buy (actually previously appeared in Shards of Alara)

There is no "once per turn" restriction or anything on the triggered ability, so any time you cast a spell, it will trigger and provide a power/toughness bonus.

Quote:And what is the converted mana cost of a 10 point Fireball Buy

Its converted mana cost (CMC) will be 11. Anywhere but the on the stack, an X is treated as zero for calculating a card's CMC. However, on the stack, it will be whatever value is chosen (or determined) for it. So with a mana cost of {10}{R}, you'll get 10 + 1 = 11.

Quoting CompRules:202.3d When calculating the converted mana cost of an object with an {X} in its mana cost, X is treated as 0 while the object is not on the stack, and X is treated as the number chosen for it while the object is on the stack.

--------------------
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

2 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search