Site Maintenance Warning
We are currently wrapping up the loading process for new sets please do not edit/add to collections or decks. ETA 7/23-26

Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > "Becomes Targeted" timing question

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
bleep
Bug Hunter

Joined: 9/13/2010

Quote: What is a committee? A group of the unwilling, picked from the unfit, to do the unnecessary.

Mark Twain

---------------

Knowledge is power. Hide it well.

---------------

An open mind is like a fortress, with its gates unbarred and unguarded.

 

"Becomes Targeted" timing question 10/11/2016 8:14:33 AM

Ello!

During a casual game this came up:
I target my opponent's Immerwolf Buy with Lightning Bolt Buy
My opponent responds by using AEther Vial Buy to put Silverfur Partisan Buy into play.

I'm of the opinion that, as I need to target something when I cast Lightning Bolt Buy, the Immerwolf Buy has already "become" a target, regardless of the positioning of Lightning Bolt Buy on the stack.

Bottom line: I say my opponent doesn't get a token, my opponent says he does get a token. Who is right?
-----------------------------------------------------------

Favorite card: Eater of the Dead Buy

Post your synergies here
The Synergy Page
Promote the Synergy section!

(\__/)
( o.O) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into
(")_(") your signature, to help him gain World Domination.

--> The Game <--

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Mallys
Guru

Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]

 

RE: "Becomes Targeted" timing question 10/11/2016 7:02:22 PM

Quoting bleep:Ello!

During a casual game this came up:
I target my opponent's Immerwolf Buy with Lightning Bolt Buy
My opponent responds by using AEther Vial Buy to put Silverfur Partisan Buy into play.

I'm of the opinion that, as I need to target something when I cast Lightning Bolt Buy, the Immerwolf Buy has already "become" a target, regardless of the positioning of Lightning Bolt Buy on the stack.

Bottom line: I say my opponent doesn't get a token, my opponent says he does get a token. Who is right?

Your opponent does not get a token, but it has less to do with "positioning" on the stack and more whether or not abilities exist when events happen.

We start with your opponent having Immerwolf Buy and AEther Vial Buy on the battlefield. You cast Lightning Bolt Buy, targeting Immerwolf Buy. During the process of casting Lightning Bolt Buy, you choose Immerwolf Buy as the target. It is at this point that any "becomes targeted" abilities will trigger if they exist at the time. Once you've finished casting the spell, any such ability will go on the stack above Lightning Bolt Buy.

With Lightning Bolt Buy on the stack awaiting resolution, your opponent may respond by using AEther Vial Buy to put Silverfur Partisan Buy onto the battlefield. However, this won't net your opponent a wolf token, as the triggered ability did not exist when it could've triggered.

It's not enough that Silverfur Partisan Buy sees a creature as the target of a spell; it must see it become the target of a spell. That is, it must be on the battlefield before you even announce Lightning Bolt Buy or any other targeted spell it might trigger on.
--------------------
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

bleep
Bug Hunter

Joined: 9/13/2010

Quote: What is a committee? A group of the unwilling, picked from the unfit, to do the unnecessary.

Mark Twain

---------------

Knowledge is power. Hide it well.

---------------

An open mind is like a fortress, with its gates unbarred and unguarded.

 

RE: RE: "Becomes Targeted" timing question 10/12/2016 7:07:31 AM

Thanks for that very clear and informational reply. Happy
-----------------------------------------------------------

Favorite card: Eater of the Dead Buy

Post your synergies here
The Synergy Page
Promote the Synergy section!

(\__/)
( o.O) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into
(")_(") your signature, to help him gain World Domination.

--> The Game <--

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

3 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search