Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > Eidolon of countless battles bestowed on my commander

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
forsher43

Joined: 8/19/2014

Quote: [none]

 

Question Eidolon of countless battles bestowed on my commander 10/25/2016 11:49:29 PM

I have Eidolon of Countless Battles Buy bestowed on my commander, and I cast Spirit Mantle Buy enchanting the same creature, will the other enchantment fall off, as it is still a creature card, even though it is currently and enchantment?

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Mallys
Guru

Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]

 

RE: Eidolon of countless battles bestowed on my commander 10/26/2016 5:34:39 AM

Quoting forsher43:I have Eidolon of Countless Battles Buy bestowed on my commander, and I cast Spirit Mantle Buy enchanting the same creature, will the other enchantment fall off, as it is still a creature card, even though it is currently and enchantment?

It won't cause the Eidolon to become unattached. When you choose to pay the bestow cost, the Eidolon (or other bestow creature) becomes an Aura enchantment; that is, it ceases to be a creature (the rules have always preferred that creatures not be attached to things). As such, "protection from creatures" won't have any interaction with it.

Quoting CompRules:702.102. Bestow

702.102a Bestow represents two static abilities, one that functions while the card with bestow is on the stack and another that functions both while it’s on the stack and while it’s on the battlefield. “Bestow [cost]” means “You may cast this card by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost.” and “If you chose to pay this spell’s bestow cost, it becomes an Aura enchantment and gains enchant creature. These effects last until one of two things happens: this spell has an illegal target as it resolves or the permanent this spell becomes, becomes unattached.” Paying a card’s bestow cost follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.

--------------------
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

2 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search