Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > Kiora, the Crashing Wave question

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
Hexyl

Joined: 1/10/2002

Quote: Is it crazy how saying sentences backwards creates backwards sentences saying how crazy it is?

 

Kiora, the Crashing Wave question 12/12/2016 5:32:00 PM

Kiora's 1st ability says: "+1: Until your next turn, prevent all damage that would be dealt to and dealt by target permanent an opponent controls."

What happens if I use that ability on an opponent's creature, then I attack with a creature with trample which gets blocked by that creature? Since I deal no damage to it, do I get to deal all trample damage to opponent?

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Mallys
Guru

Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]

 

RE: Kiora, the Crashing Wave question 12/12/2016 8:31:48 PM

Quoting Hexyl:Kiora's 1st ability says: "+1: Until your next turn, prevent all damage that would be dealt to and dealt by target permanent an opponent controls."

What happens if I use that ability on an opponent's creature, then I attack with a creature with trample which gets blocked by that creature? Since I deal no damage to it, do I get to deal all trample damage to opponent?

Nope. Trample doesn't take into account whether or not the damage is actually dealt, just that it's assigned properly. You'll assign lethal damage to the blocking creature as you normally would, and then you may assign any remaining damage to the player.

Quoting CompRules:702.19. Trample

[...]

702.19b The controller of an attacking creature with trample first assigns damage to the creature(s) blocking it. Once all those blocking creatures are assigned lethal damage, any remaining damage is assigned as its controller chooses among those blocking creatures and the player or planeswalker the creature is attacking. When checking for assigned lethal damage, take into account damage already marked on the creature and damage from other creatures that’s being assigned during the same combat damage step, but not any abilities or effects that might change the amount of damage that’s actually dealt. The attacking creature’s controller need not assign lethal damage to all those blocking creatures but in that case can’t assign any damage to the player or planeswalker it’s attacking.

--------------------
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

2 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search