Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > When

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
Pshel

Joined: 10/28/2003

Quote: [none]

 

When 4/22/2017 3:23:22 AM

With Teysa, Envoy of Ghosts Buy in play when do I get the Spirit Token When a creature damages me or the creature dies?

If her creatures are protected from white does this still work?

Thanks

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Stjan
Bug Hunter

Joined: 10/30/2004

Quote: [none]

 

RE: When 4/25/2017 7:08:12 PM

Uh... RTC!
It`s only one triggered ability and it doesn`t target or care about indestructibility or regeneration.

Edit: Token generation is only a part of an effect of that ability.

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Mallys
Guru

Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]

 

RE: When 4/27/2017 12:59:03 AM

I could've sworn I'd posted an answer to this the other day. I guess the internet ate it. The above answer isn't incorrect, but to add a bit more explanation...

Quoting Pshel:With Teysa, Envoy of Ghosts Buy in play when do I get the Spirit Token When a creature damages me or the creature dies?

The answer is both... ish. Note that the trigger for the ability is that a creature deals combat damage to you; nothing here triggers when any creatures die. When the ability resolves, the effect destroys the creature and then creates a Spirit token. There's no opportunity between any parts of the effect to do anything, and, in fact, as mentioned above, the creature need not actually be destroyed for you to get the token.

Quote:If her creatures are protected from white does this still work?

It does. The ability doesn't:

-damage the creature,
-attach anything to the creature,
-block the creature,
-target the creature,

so protection isn't relevant.
--------------------
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

3 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search