Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > General Magic Disc. & Strategy > Is this combo valid??

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
Raven325

Joined: 5/29/2009

Quote: That's what she said.

 

Question Is this combo valid?? 5/27/2017 8:12:08 PM

I have Mirrorweave and Admonition Angel in a deck together, but I'm not sure this is a valid combo. This site says it's good and guru approved, but I still don't think so. Putting Mirrorweave of Admonition Angel makes all creatures in play a copy of Admonition Angel. Then you drop a land to trigger the landfall ability, but you won't be able to remove any creatures from the game due to Admonition Angel's rule text. "Exile target nonland permanent other than Admonition Angel". So basically, you can't remove lands or creatures from the game. Am I reading this right??

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Mallys
Guru

Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]

 

RE: Is this combo valid?? 5/28/2017 3:49:17 AM

Quoting Raven325:I have Mirrorweave and Admonition Angel in a deck together, but I'm not sure this is a valid combo. This site says it's good and guru approved, but I still don't think so. Putting Mirrorweave of Admonition Angel makes all creatures in play a copy of Admonition Angel. Then you drop a land to trigger the landfall ability, but you won't be able to remove any creatures from the game due to Admonition Angel's rule text. "Exile target nonland permanent other than Admonition Angel". So basically, you can't remove lands or creatures from the game. Am I reading this right??

[card]Admonition Angel[/card] = Admonition Angel Buy
Mirrorweave Buy

Not quite. When a card refers to itself by name like Admonition Angel Buy, it is mechanically identical if you replace the card's name with "this object/permanent/whatever". It only means itself. In this case, it means that for each Admonition Angel Buy trigger, each ability can target any nonland permanent except the particular Admonition Angel Buy it corresponds to.

Quoting CompRules:201.4. Text that refers to the object it’s on by name means just that particular object and not any other objects with that name, regardless of any name changes caused by game effects.

Note, this is different than an effect that reads, "a card/permanent/object/whatever named [name]."
--------------------
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Raven325

Joined: 5/29/2009

Quote: That's what she said.

 

Happy RE: RE: Is this combo valid?? 5/31/2017 7:38:53 PM

Thanks, that helps a lot.

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

3 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search