Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > Opponents card of mine exiled with his commander, gonti

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
forsher43

Joined: 8/19/2014

Quote: [none]

 

Question Opponents card of mine exiled with his commander, gonti 11/4/2017 9:38:45 PM

If my opponent has a card of mine exiled with his commander, gonti, Lord of luxury [card] and put his commander back in the command zone (destroy it), can he cast the exiled card with gonti not on the battlefield?

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Mallys
Guru

Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]

 

RE: Opponents card of mine exiled with his commander, gonti 11/5/2017 4:06:08 AM

Quoting forsher43:If my opponent has a card of mine exiled with his commander, Gonti, Lord of Luxury Buy and put his commander back in the command zone (destroy it), can he cast the exiled card with gonti not on the battlefield?

He can. It's all one ability that exiles the card and then allows you to cast it at some point. The ability doesn't check at any point that you still control Gonti. (Note that lands are poor choices for the ability, as you can't "cast" a land.)

This would be different if Gonti had one ability that exiled cards and then another separate ability that let you cast exiled cards.

Quoting Kaladesh Release Notes:You may look at and cast that card (and spend mana as though it were mana of any type to do so) even if Gonti leaves the battlefield. If another player gains control of Gonti, that player can’t look at or cast the card, and you still can.

--------------------
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

2 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search