Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > Have one 4/6 creature, play tettering peaks and cathedral of war in play

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
forsher43

Joined: 8/19/2014

Quote: [none]

 

Question Have one 4/6 creature, play tettering peaks and cathedral of war in play 12/4/2017 5:27:46 PM

If i have one 4/6 creature, and I play a the land tettering peaks, and I also have the land Cathedral of War Buy in play, and then I attack with my 4/6, but my opponent then plays Sudden Spoiling Buy, does my creature lose the boost in power from the two lands?-- and become and 0/2 only?

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Mallys
Guru

Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]

 

RE: Have one 4/6 creature, play tettering peaks and cathedral of war in play 12/4/2017 6:37:05 PM

Quoting forsher43:If i have one 4/6 creature, and I play a the land Teetering Peaks Buy, and I also have the land Cathedral of War Buy in play, and then I attack with my 4/6, but my opponent then plays Sudden Spoiling Buy, does my creature lose the boost in power from the two lands?-- and become and 0/2 only?

Fortunately for us, there's no dependency here to worry about, so we just apply all the power/toughness changing effects in this order:
-characteristic-defining abilities
-effects that set power and toughness to specific valus
-effects that modify (but don't set) power and toughness
-counters
-effects that switch power and toughness.

The creature starts as a 4/6. Then we apply Sudden Spoiling Buy, making it a 0/2. Then we apply the effects from Teetering Peaks Buy and the exalted ability to give it +3/+1, making it a 3/3.

Quoting CompRules:613.3. Within layer 7, apply effects in a series of sublayers in the order described below. Within each sublayer, apply effects in timestamp order. (See rule 613.6.) Note that dependency may alter the order in which effects are applied within a sublayer. (See rule 613.7.)

613.3a Layer 7a: Effects from characteristic-defining abilities that define power and/or toughness are applied. See rule 604.3.

613.3b Layer 7b: Effects that set power and/or toughness to a specific number or value are applied. Effects that refer to the base power and/or toughness of a creature apply in this layer.

613.3c Layer 7c: Effects that modify power and/or toughness (but don’t set power and/or toughness to a specific number or value) are applied.

613.3d Layer 7d: Power and/or toughness changes from counters are applied. See rule 121, “Counters.”

613.3e Layer 7e: Effects that switch a creature’s power and toughness are applied. Such effects take the value of power and apply it to the creature’s toughness, and take the value of toughness and apply it to the creature’s power

--------------------
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

2 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search