Site Maintenance Warning
We are currently wrapping up the loading process for new sets please do not edit/add to collections or decks. ETA Midnight 7/12

Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > Teysa envoy of ghost, dictate of erebos

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
forsher43

Joined: 8/19/2014

Quote: [none]

 

Question Teysa envoy of ghost, dictate of erebos 12/14/2017 3:36:48 PM

I have my commander out teysa, envoy of ghost and I control two other creatures, while my opponent has an enchantment Dictate of Erebos Buy out. He attacks me with three creatures, one which is indestructible and I declare no blockers. Do I get the 3 spirit tokens from my commanders ability before I have to sac creatures for his enchantment's ability (when his creatures are destroyed with my commanders ability)?

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Mallys
Guru

Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]

 

RE: Teysa envoy of ghost, dictate of erebos 12/16/2017 1:42:30 AM

Quoting forsher43:I have my commander out Teysa, Envoy of Ghosts Buy and I control two other creatures, while my opponent has an enchantment Dictate of Erebos Buy out. He attacks me with three creatures, one which is indestructible and I declare no blockers. Do I get the 3 spirit tokens from my commanders ability before I have to sac creatures for his enchantment's ability (when his creatures are destroyed with my commanders ability)?

Yes, mostly. The end result (sacrificing your new spirit tokens instead of the creatures you have) is what you're expecting, though.

When each of your opponent's creatures damages you, Teysa's ability will trigger three times. The first resolves, destroying one of the creatures and creating a spirit token. The Dictate's ability triggers during the resolution of that ability, and when it resolves, you'll have a shiny new spirit token to sacrifice. This process will repeat two more times.

Note that it doesn't matter that one of the creatures is indestructible. The ability will simply do as much as it can. There's no "if you do" clause to check that the event (destroying the creature) actually occurred.
--------------------
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

2 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search