Site Maintenance Warning
We are currently wrapping up the loading process for new sets please do not edit/add to collections or decks. ETA Midnight 7/12

Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > Player casting a spell without paying its mana cost

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
forsher43

Joined: 8/19/2014

Quote: [none]

 

Question Player casting a spell without paying its mana cost 3/23/2018 2:59:34 PM

Can a player ever cast a spell without paying its mana cost? An opponent told me that they can cast a spell first, without tapping their mana, so that if the target has hexproof or he has to rewind, or someone wants to counter it, his mana is then not tapped, and is available to use for other tricks. Is this true?

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Raider
Bug Hunter

Joined: 11/17/2004

Quote: Get that weak stuff outta here

 

RE: Player casting a spell without paying its mana cost 3/23/2018 7:50:44 PM

No, that is not allowed. Step one of casting any spell is paying the appropriate costs; mana and otherwise. The only case where "rewinding" is permitted is when the play is deemed to be illegal; in which case, you only rewind to the point where the illegal action occurred and undo it.
my decks need attention

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Mallys
Guru

Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]

 

RE: Player casting a spell without paying its mana cost 3/24/2018 12:49:25 AM

Where the confusion may be (or intentional obfuscation) is that you don't need the mana in your mana pool when you start the process of casting a spell (601.2). That said, you can't cast the spell and fish for responses before you decide whether or not you'll pay the mana for it - you pay the costs when you cast it, not when it resolves. A few other notes:

- Only once all the steps to cast a spell are complete do other players get a chance to respond.
- Casting a spell targeting an opponent's creature that has hexproof or is otherwise an illegal target can't even be done, as part of casting a spell is choosing any necessary legal targets for it. This is a "rewindable" situation.
- A game-state can only be "rewound" if you illegally cast a spell, not if the targets become illegal afterwards.

I would be wary of anyone that repeatedly tries to cast spells illegally trying to bait out information about counterspells or other responses only to take it back with "Oh, I guess I actually can't cast that," or the like.
--------------------
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

3 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search