Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > Negative Life

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
Pshel

Joined: 10/28/2003

Quote: [none]

 

Negative Life 4/9/2018 12:37:45 PM

I was going to make a novelty deck with Abyssal Persecutor Buy and a "return to my hand" spell (B/U). The idea was not to block at all and just attack and when they were "zero" life give myself "1 live" and return the Abyssal Persecutor Buyto my hand.

Will this work if negative life is always zero, I would live with +1 life?

Thanks

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Mallys
Guru

Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]

 

RE: Negative Life 4/10/2018 12:47:34 AM

Quoting Pshel:I was going to make a novelty deck with Abyssal Persecutor Buy and a "return to my hand" spell (B/U). The idea was not to block at all and just attack and when they were "zero" life give myself "1 live" and return the Abyssal Persecutor Buyto my hand.

Will this work if negative life is always zero, I would live with +1 life?

Thanks

I get the feeling you're misreading a card here, or there's something else in play you're not mentioning.
Note that Abyssal Persecutor Buy doesn't prevent you from losing the game - just your opponents. If you end up controlling it and having zero or less life, you lose. No shenanigans.

That said, there is nothing preventing you from having negative life - you just tend to leave the game all-but immediately once you do. If, however, you also happen to have some way of not losing the game, perhaps by controlling a Platinum Angel Buy, then things still don't work well for you. If you take more damage than you have life through whatever means, you can continue losing life. That is, your life total will just get more and more negative as you continue to be dealt damage. If you have -20 life and gain 1 life, you'll end up with -19 life - your situation is technically better, but not by much.
--------------------
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Pshel

Joined: 10/28/2003

Quote: [none]

 

Random Comment 4/10/2018 1:00:31 PM

Sorry wrong card my mistake but same idea. So you do get negative life it doesn't stop at zero

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

3 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search