Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > Does it stack?

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
norrock1

Joined: 2/27/2012

Quote: [none]

 

Does it stack? 5/19/2018 8:01:18 AM

Lets say you have 2 or more abundance on the field. You enter your draw phase. You choose to activate all of them. Do you get to reveal cards for all abundance or just one?

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Mallys
Guru

Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]

 

RE: Does it stack? 5/19/2018 10:33:43 PM

Quoting norrock1:Lets say you have 2 or more Abundance Buy on the field. You enter your draw phase. You choose to activate all of them. Do you get to reveal cards for all abundance or just one?

Note that nothing is being "activated" here. While that seems nit-picky, Magic can be pretty precise with its language, and there are abilities that look for abilities being activated.

That said, controlling multiples of Abundance Buy doesn't get you anything beyond controlling just one. Abundance Buy has a static ability that generates a replacement effect (recognized by the "if...would, instead" wording). That is, it replaces some event with another. In this case, Abundance Buy replaces, "Draw a card," with, "Pick land/nonland and start revealing cards..." While it is possible to apply multiple replacement effects to the same event, it just won't work in this case. After you apply one, you won't be able to apply the other since it's looking for you to draw a card, which you won't be doing after applying the first Abundance Buy ability.
--------------------
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

2 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search