Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > Opponent has elesh norn grand cenobite and artifacts i cast reclamation sage

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
forsher43

Joined: 8/19/2014

Quote: [none]

 

Question Opponent has elesh norn grand cenobite and artifacts i cast reclamation sage 6/11/2018 2:05:55 AM

If my opponent has elesh norn grand cenobite and a few artifacts, and I successfully cast a reclamation sagel[\card], and I have in play the enchantment, dictate of erebos[\card], can you please run through all of the effects and triggers, as someone has told me that the creature I cast never enters the battlefield.

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Mallys
Guru

Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]

 

RE: Opponent has elesh norn grand cenobite and artifacts i cast reclamation sage 6/12/2018 1:21:40 AM

Quoting forsher43:If my opponent has Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite Buy and a few artifacts, and I successfully cast a Reclamation Sage Buy, and I have in play the enchantment, Dictate of Erebos Buy, can you please run through all of the effects and triggers, as someone has told me that the creature I cast never enters the battlefield.

Reclamation Sage Buy does enter the battlefield; it just doesn't stay there very long.

Reclamation Sage Buy enters the battlefield as the final part of its resolution. Its EtB ability triggers and goes on the stack (and you'll choose an appropriate target). Now that its on the battlefield, it's also 0/0 at this time. Assuming no other abilities trigger, the game performs state-based actions. Reclamation Sage Buy has 0 or less toughness, so it's put into your graveyard.

Dictate of Erebos Buy sees a creature you control die, so its ability triggers; it goes on the stack above the Reclamation Sage Buy ability. Assuming nothing else happens, you gain priority again for the first time since you cast Reclamation Sage Buy.

If nothing else intervenes, the Dictate's ability resolves, and each of your opponents sacrifices a creature. Then the Sage's ability resolves, and you choose whether or not to destroy the artifact or enchantment you targeted.
--------------------
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

2 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search