Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > Undying + evolve

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
Agent of Stromgald

Joined: 11/25/2008

Quote: "Someday, someone will best me. But it won't be today, and it won't be you."


Undying + evolve 6/17/2018 1:42:54 AM

Random question regarding components of a {U}{G} stompy deck in modern

First Turn: Cloudfin Raptor Buy
Second Turn: Young Wolf Buy , giving Cloudfin Raptor Buy +1/+1

During my opponent's end step, i Pongify Buy the Young Wolf Buy.
Do I select the order in which things occur? I normally, would want the Young Wolf Buy 's undying to trigger first so that when he comes back as 2/2 he will trigger the Cloudfin Raptor Buy 's evolve, making it at 2/3 before the 3/3 Pongify Buy token comes in to trigger the Cloudfin Raptor Buy 's evolve again, to make it a 3/4.

OR does my opponent get to choose the order since it is technically still his turn? if so, should I just do these things during my turn so that I can get the result I want?



  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Bug Hunter

Joined: 10/30/2004

Quote: [none]


RE: Undying + evolve 6/19/2018 6:19:22 PM

No, there is no choice.
Young Wolf Buy`s Undying triggered ability is put on stack after Pongify Buy resolves.

Sorry, it works.
You put the Undying trigger on top of (1st)Evolve trigger, so when it resolves, it triggers Evolve 2nd time; then the 2nd Evolve trigger would resolve before the 1st.
Since both Evolve triggers would see (at the time of resolution) Cloudfin Raptor Buy "smaller" than ETB creature(which triggerd the ability), both would put a +1/+1 counter on it.
Since you control all triggered abilities, it doesn`t matter whose turn it is.


  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

2 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!

User Search
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search