Site Maintenance Warning
We are currently wrapping up the loading process for new sets please do not edit/add to collections or decks. ETA Midnight 7/12

Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > Attack opponent with Kaalia of the vast

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
forsher43

Joined: 8/19/2014

Quote: [none]

 

Question Attack opponent with Kaalia of the vast 8/17/2018 2:26:34 PM

If I attack my opponent with Kaalia of the Vast Buy and he has no creatures on the battlefield, and I put in a demon, master of cruelties, tapped and attacking him, and his mana is tapped, what will be the outcome?

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Mallys
Guru

Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]

 

RE: Attack opponent with Kaalia of the vast 8/17/2018 7:11:29 PM

Quoting forsher43:If I attack my opponent with Kaalia of the Vast Buy and he has no creatures on the battlefield, and I put in a demon, Master of Cruelties Buy, tapped and attacking him, and his mana is tapped, what will be the outcome?

It's going to turn out pretty poorly for your opponent.

When it comes time for the declare blockers step, your opponent will declare no blockers. As such, the triggered ability on Master of Cruelties Buy will trigger and resolve, reducing your opponent's life total to 1. Then in the combat damage step, Kaalia (and any other creatures you have attacking) will assign their damage, likely bring your opponent's life total to 0 or less, causing them to lose the game.

A relevant note from Gatherer on Master of Cruelties:
Quote:An ability that triggers when something “attacks and isn’t blocked” triggers in the declare blockers step after blockers are declared if {1} that creature is attacking and {2} no creatures are declared to block it. It will trigger even if that creature was put onto the battlefield attacking rather than having been declared as an attacker in the declare attackers step.

--------------------
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

2 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search