Site Maintenance Warning
We are currently wrapping up the loading process for new sets please do not edit/add to collections or decks. ETA Midnight 7/12

Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > I play in commander I have planeswalker saheeli rai and play saheeli the gifted

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
forsher43

Joined: 8/19/2014

Quote: [none]

 

Question I play in commander I have planeswalker saheeli rai and play saheeli the gifted 8/21/2018 4:02:50 AM

In commander if I have the planeswalkerSaheeli Rai Buyand I then play saheeli, the gifted[\card], what happens? Can I have both of these cards on the battlefield at the same time/ (one legendary and one non-legendary planeswalker)/

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Mallys
Guru

Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]

 

RE: I play in commander I have planeswalker saheeli rai and play saheeli the gifted 8/21/2018 7:59:02 PM

Quoting forsher43:In commander if I have the planeswalkerSaheeli Rai Buyand I then play Saheeli, the Gifted, what happens? Can I have both of these cards on the battlefield at the same time/ (one legendary and one non-legendary planeswalker)/

Note that while the original printing of Saheeli Rai Buy doesn't say so, the current Oracle wording indicates that it (like all planeswalkers) is legendary.

Planeswalkers were previously subject to a uniqueness rule that looked for a player controlling multiple planeswalkers that shared a planeswalker type. That rule has since been removed. Now (as noted above) all planeswalkers are legendary and subject to the same rule as other legendary permanents - that is, if you control multiple legendary permanents of the same name, all but one are put into their owners' graveyards.

With that, if you play Saheeli, the Gifted, it enters the battlefield, and nothing else happens. The two planeswalkers may share a subtype, but they have different names, so the legend rule doesn't apply.
--------------------
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

2 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search