Site Maintenance Warning
We are currently wrapping up the loading process for new sets please do not edit/add to collections or decks. ETA Midnight 7/12

Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > Zegana + Panharmonicon

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
MagestoneMagus

Joined: 8/8/2004

Quote: LONG LIVE THE EMPIRE!!!

 

Question Zegana + Panharmonicon 9/24/2018 6:50:10 PM

My opponent controls Derevi, Empyrial Tactician Buy, and a Panharmonicon Buy. He casts a Prime Speaker Zegana Buy.
Would his Zegana enter the battlefield with 4 +1/+1 counters or just 2?

We resolved it as 2 since Zegana didn't say "When" or "Whenever". Our LGS judge said 4. I'm curious which is correct.

Edit: He drew his 6 cards Good
----------------------------------------
LONG LIVE THE EMPIRE!!!

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Mallys
Guru

Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]

 

RE: Zegana + Panharmonicon 9/24/2018 9:46:37 PM

Quoting MagestoneMagus:My opponent controls Derevi, Empyrial Tactician Buy, and a Panharmonicon Buy. He casts a Prime Speaker Zegana Buy.
Would his Zegana enter the battlefield with 4 +1/+1 counters or just 2?

We resolved it as 2 since Zegana didn't say "When" or "Whenever". Our LGS judge said 4. I'm curious which is correct.

Edit: He drew his 6 cards Good

The judge missed this one. You were correct, and you basically had the correct reasoning. The card drawing count was correct as well. That is a triggered ability.

Triggered abilities always begin with "when," "whenever," or "at." They're looking for something to happen, and when it does, they trigger.

Prime Speaker Zegana Buy's first ability is a replacement effect that modifies how it enters the battlefield (Rule 614.1c). Many replacement effects will use "instead" or "skip" in their wording, but effects that change how permanents enter the battlefield (like when permanents enter the battlefield tapped), lack that wording. It's likely to replace a cluttered and less pleasant wording (Think, "If PSZ would enter the battlefield, instead it enters the battlefield with blah blah.")
--------------------
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

2 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search