Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > Brimaz - attack with

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
forsher43

Joined: 8/19/2014

Quote: [none]

 

Question Brimaz - attack with 6/28/2015 11:25:40 AM

I have Brimaz as my commander, and my opponent has Propaganda out. If I attack with Brimaz, do I then have to pay 2 for the 1/1 token that comes in with Brimaz's ability?

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Mallys
Guru

Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]

 

RE: Brimaz - attack with 6/28/2015 3:06:58 PM

Quoting forsher43:I have Brimaz as my commander, and my opponent has Propaganda out. If I attack with Brimaz, do I then have to pay 2 for the 1/1 token that comes in with Brimaz's ability?

Propaganda Buy
Brimaz, King of Oreskos Buy

No. To "attack" is to be declared as an attacker at the beginning of the declare attackers step. The payment for effects like Propaganda Buy also occur as part of that action. (508.1, 508.2, and relevant sub-entries)

Quoting CompRules:508.4. If a creature is put onto the battlefield attacking, its controller chooses which defending player or which planeswalker a defending player controls it’s attacking as it enters the battlefield (unless the effect that put it onto the battlefield specifies what it’s attacking). Such creatures are “attacking” but, for the purposes of trigger events and effects, they never “attacked.”

--------------------
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

2 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search