Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > Vigor and Izzet Staticaster with deathtouch

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
forsher43

Joined: 8/19/2014

Quote: [none]

 

Question Vigor and Izzet Staticaster with deathtouch 9/3/2015 3:23:03 AM

If my opponent has two Vigor [\card] on the board and I have in Izzet Staticaster [\card] with deathtouch and target his card (to hit both of them for one deathtouch damage) do his creatures die, or does one prevent damage to the other?

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Mallys
Guru

Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]

 

RE: Vigor and Izzet Staticaster with deathtouch 9/3/2015 6:07:19 PM

Quoting forsher43:If my opponent has two Vigor Buy on the board and I have in Izzet Staticaster Buy with deathtouch and target his card (to hit both of them for one deathtouch damage) do his creatures die, or does one prevent damage to the other?

Neither will die; as you surmised, each protects the other. When an ability of an object refers to that object by name, it means the object it's on, and not other objects with the same name (201.4). With that, you can read the second ability as, "If damage would be dealt to a creature you control other than [this creature], prevent that damage. Put a +1/+1 counter on that creature for each 1 damage prevented this way."

As a side note, use the "/" by your shift key, and don't put spaces between the card tags and the card names.
--------------------
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

2 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search