Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > Undying with meld

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
talldarkandgrusome

Joined: 5/15/2007

Quote: if you build a better mouse trap, dont tell al gore or he will claim it

 

Undying with meld 9/4/2017 3:07:09 PM

If I control Mikaeus, the Unhallowed Buy and I also control chattering host ( the melded form of Graf Rats Buy and Midnight Scavengers Buy) and the host dies,do both halves return as separate cards with +1/+1 counters only to meld again with 2 +1/+1 counters? Chattering host is an eldrazi horror.

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

Mallys
Guru

Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]

 

RE: Undying with meld 9/4/2017 10:20:18 PM

Quoting talldarkandgrusome:If I control Mikaeus, the Unhallowed Buy and I also control chattering host ( the melded form of Graf Rats Buy and Midnight Scavengers Buy) and the host dies,do both halves return as separate cards with +1/+1 counters only to meld again with 2 +1/+1 counters? Chattering host is an eldrazi horror.

Chittering Host Buy

You're mostly correct. Whenever a melded permanent leaves the battlefield, anything that is done to it afterwards is done to both cards. In this situation, undying will cause the creature to return to the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter if it lacks one, so both melded cards will be returned to the battlefield, and each will get a +1/+1 counter.

At the beginning of your next combat, assuming you still control and own both cards, they will be exiled and re-melded into Chittering Host Buy, but it won't have any +1/+1 counters (at least not those from Graf Rats Buy and Midnight Scavengers Buy), since there's a zone change as part of the meld trigger. (Rather than changing characteristics as with the transform action, the permanents are exiled and then returned to the battlefield in the new melded form.)

Quoting CompRules:712.4c If an effect can find the new object that a melded permanent becomes as it leaves the battlefield, it finds both cards. (See rule 400.7.) If that effect causes actions to be taken upon those cards, the same actions are taken upon each of them

--------------------
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

2 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search